Fashion of the Superheroine

WARNING: Pictures of Scantily Clad Women

I could pretty much use one word to describe most superheroine costumes. Ridiculous. So imagine you’re about to go fight some nasty bad guys and you need to put on a disguise. So what do you choose? How about a swimsuit. Like Wonder Woman and these other heroines:

Scarlet Witch (Marvel)

She-Hulk (Marvel)

Ms. Marvel (Marvel)

Black Canary (DC) And what better way to add to the swimsuit effect than fishnet tights? I can barely wear tights to church without ripping them. I can’t imagine trying to fight crime with them on.

And if I were doing heroic stunts, I’d probably aslo at least want to cover up my stomach. I don’t know. Just a thought.

Huntress (DC)

Hawkgirl (DC)

Emma Frost (Marvel) Sadly, this is one of her more modest outfits.

Hawkeye (Marvel)

Lets not forget about wearing skirts while fighting crime. Especially if you fly or grow to a giant size.

Elasti-Girl (DC)

Supergirl (DC)

Bat-Girl (DC)

Arrowette (DC) Bare stomach and skirt. Good idea.

Now to be fair there are some reasonable outfits out  there. Like these:

Shadowcat (Marvel)

Black Widow (Marvel)

Batgirl (DC)

Wasp (Marvel)

Stature (Marvel)

Invisible Woman (Marvel)

Phoenix (Marvel)

Bumble Bee (DC)

Huntress (DC.)

Rogue (Marvel)

Spiderwoman (Marvel)

So, it seems to me that Marvel has more reasonable costumes than DC. But to be fair, I tend to be a little biased toward Marvel in most things. Basically what I’m saying though is that a lot of the women out there fighting crime in comic books are horribly dressed for what they’re trying to do. Unlike most of their male counterparts, they’re not at all protected by their costumes. As you can tell I kind of prefer the jumpsuit look. It can be sexy while still being reasonable. Just my thoughts on it all.

And while we’re talking about fashion, let’s all take a moment to admire the original Batwoman’s purse, which contained all her beauty product themed crime fighting gadgets.

On the bright side, most of the heroines don’t wear capes. We know how Edna (Incredibles) feels about capes.

5 comments

  1. umanbn · July 14, 2012

    Yeh that’s funny…..Is that Incredibles character based on a real person?? Anna Wintour???

    • Kyra Nelson · July 14, 2012

      Not sure. She does have the same haircut, though.

  2. GlowWorm · September 14, 2012

    love it- and so true. Have you seen this poster?

    http://www.xerxy.com/2012/05/31/if-all-the-avengers-posed-like-black-widow/

    • Kyra Nelson · September 14, 2012

      Yes! Although to be fair, even though they played up Black Widow’s sexual appeal in the movie, she isn’t just eye candy. She has a legitimate role in the film and on the team and is down right awesome on all accounts. I actually have a post about that in the “Fantastically Feminine” section.

  3. Jay · February 14, 2014

    Correct me if I’m wrong, but I think the scant costumes serve to distract the bad guy. Imagine someone dressed like your sexual fantasy comes to fight you. A bad guy would be all distracted just before she beats him down.
    Because that’s just how us guys are…

Leave a comment